A Vegan/Gluten Free Christmas

Hi everyone!

I hope you all had a wonderful day yesterday. I spent the day in the house with the family where we watched kids films, played games, had a gorgeous dinner and watched Doctor Who. 

I spent a lot of the day preparing food I could eat for dinner. Usually I have a Cheatin Roast or a Linda McCartney Roast but since I am now gluten free and trying to eat more whole foods (and less processed food) I decided to make something myself. 

I followed a recipe for Lentil Loaf from The Almost Vegan (http://thealmostvegan.com/vegan-lentil-loaf/) which contained mashed and whole green lentils, carrots, onions and walnuts. The walnuts gave a really nice crunch and the herbs made this roast delicious. I won’t post the recipe as you can get it from the link above but here is a photo of my loaf.

Image

 

I also made my own gravy from scratch. I’ve tried many vegan/gf gravy mixes and hated them all. I didn’t follow a recipe for this but I had a mushroom stock cube and a lot of mushrooms so I decided to use them to make my gravy (if you don’t know, I LOVE mushrooms). I don’t think it’s worth a recipe as it was very simple. I fried some onions and mushrooms in a tiny amount of oil then added water, the stock cube (I use Kallo), some rosemary, some onion powder and a handful of nutritional yeast. I boiled it for about 30 minutes and then took the vegetables out and thickened the liquid with cornflour. I ended up with a really nice gravy that tasted very different to the old bisto I used to have!

Image

 

Here is my whole dinner. I had the same vegetables as everyone else – sprouts, carrots, red cabbage, roast potatoes and roast parsnips. I also had a few stuffing balls which I made using a Mrs Crimbles mix. It was the best Christmas dinner I’ve probably ever had! The lentil loaf is really nice on a sandwich too. I’ve had two sandwiches with it since my dinner.

I got some really good presents this year as well! The photos below are just a selection.

Image

 

My first ever Gluten Free AND Vegan cookbook! This book looks really good and it saves me the time of searching through and putting sticky notes on recipes I can use. Apparently it is a sequel so I’m on the hunt for the first one now!

Image

 

I’ve wanted this book ever since I heard it was coming out. It’s a beautiful edition too.Image

Maybe the best present! Read, Set, Novel is a workbook with lots of exercises in it to help you plan your novel. I also got my first fountain pen! Writer presents are brilliant.

ImageAnd everything else (well nearly – I also got a TARDIS that makes noises, a hairdryer and a Coldplay DVD).

 

I gave out a lot of homemade gifts this year. I got the recipes/instructions online and it’s really satisfying giving something you’ve made yourself. Here are some of the things I made.

ImageImageImage

I forgot to take photos before I gave these goodies away so the images above are from the tutorials which I will list now.

Sock Monkey – A really cute and easy to make gift! Tutorial – http://www.craftbits.com/project/sock-monkey

Candy Cane Fudge – Vegan fudge but you’d never know it! Tutorial – http://www.godairyfree.org/news/nutrition-headlines/the-best-holiday-fudge-ever-and-it-just-happens-to-be-vegan

Cherry Coconut Truffles – Like vegan bounties! Tutorial – http://dadavegan.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/vegan-mofo-1st-truffles.html

 

And the best part of Christmas is my cat Wicca! A few days ago he was diagnosed with kidney failure and the vet wasn’t very hopeful but he’s getting better and better. We’re so proud of him!

Image

 

 

So that’s my Christmas! Today is a bedroom cleaning and writing day. I hope you all had a great time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

