Top Ten Tuesday – Settings I’d Love to See in Books

Image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Settings You’d Like To See (http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/top-ten-settings-jana-would-like-to-see.html). I only have five of these which probably means I need to expand my horizons a bit!

Image

1) Old Villages

By this I mean Stonewylde style villages. I love that period of time and the characters being that close to nature.

Image

2) Hidden Worlds

I love the idea of the book being set in the real world but with a hidden world inside it. This worked really well with JK Rowling’s wizard world.

Image

3) Totally made up worlds

There is something amazing about fantasy novels where the world is entirely new. It’s something you can emerge yourself in.

Image

4) France

Particularly little french villages like in Chocolat or Amelie. I’ve never been there but I love reading about the country.

Image

5) Circus/Carnivals

I read two amazing books set in a circus last year – Water For Elephants and The Night Circus. They both had a magical atmosphere and were really gripping.

What are your favourite settings? Do you have any recommendations for me?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Settings I’d Love to See in Books

Leave a Reply

