Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish (http://brokeandbookish.blogspot.co.uk). This week’s theme is the top ten most frustrating characters ever. A few characters immediately came to mind but I haven’t got ten!

Bella Swan – Twilight

kristen-stewart-as-bella-swan-in-twilight2

I know you all thought of this character as soon as you read the title of this blog post. I did too.

Let me own up though, I am a twilight fan – I love the books and the films (but the books are better).

However, Bella is the most annoying character I can think of. Not only that but she is a terrible role model for teenage girls too! She can’t live without her boyfriend and actually spends a year basically in mourning because he leaves. Now I’m all for true love but she needs to get a grip!

She also spends the whole four books just constantly moaning. I swear she is never happy.

 

imagesQuinn – True Blood Series

Quinn appears in the 5th True Blood book and has become a constant character. I can’t quite pin down what it is about him that I find so hugely annoying. He is over the top confident and comes across as very big headed and yet he is extremely boring! He also tries to pry Sookie away from Eric which I’m never going to be happy with. Back off Quinn and leave it to the vampires.

Bill – True Blood Series

Bill starts off as Sookie’s vampire in the first True Blood book. Sure he’s charming but as soon as other (more interesting) vampires were introduced I went right off him. Then we find out that he went after Sookie just because he was told to and nearly got her killed in the process. Seriously guys, back off and let Sookie be with Eric like she should be!

bronteemetext96wuthr10

Catherine Earnshaw – Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights is my favourite book and I love all of the characters. However there is a frustrating streak to the main character, Cathy. She was in love with Heathcliff and yet she married Edgar Linton basically because he was rich. I couldn’t help but think she loved all the attention!

Linton Heathcliff – Wuthering Heights

Linton was Heathcliff’s son and was always a sickly, weak child. I just spent the whole book wishing he’d fight back against his father and just stop complaining and making everything about himself!

Roliet-romeo-and-juliet-32040829-400-300

 

Romeo and Juliet

Both equally as frustrating, in a similar way to Bella Swan! Where do I start? Maybe Juliet should have come up with a better plan than than just hoping that she’d wake up before Romeo got there? It’s all just slightly over dramatic!

Dolores_Umbridge

 

 

Dolores Umbridge – Harry Potter

The hated character of all Harry Potter fans! She was a cotton pink coloured toad who was condescending and just plain horrible to everyone she met.

 

 

 

Which literary characters do you find annoying? Do they make you hate the book or, like me, do they make the story more interesting?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

  1. Catherine and Bella are on my list as well. Though almost anyone from Wuthering Heights could qualify…

    And Quinn drove me crazy too. I’m curious how the author is going to bring him back in the last novel (at least I’m assuming he’s going to be in it as there’s a tiger on the cover).

Leave a Reply

