Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Romances

Image

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme held over at The Broke and the Bookish.   This week’s theme is top ten romances. As a huge fan of romance in novels this was a great one for me!

Image

1) Cathy and Heathcliff – Wuthering Heights

I apologise for the obvious choice but it’s obvious for a reason! Cathy and Heathcliff are the first couple that come into my head when I think of top romances. It is a love and passion that overpowers all and some of the best quotes come from this novel.

“If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger.”

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

Image

2) Severus Snape and Lily Potter – Harry Potter Series

The ultimate romance of the Harry Potter series. Everyone had an opinion on whether Severus Snape was “evil” or not and it turned out to be a love story all along. Another example of how love can overcome anything.

“After all this time?” – Dumbledore

“Always” – Snape

Image

3) Sookie and Eric – True Blood Series

I’ve wanted these two to be together since the very beginning. It’s no secret how much I hate Bill and Quinn! Eric was always true to Sookie and they are perfect together.

“We could go back to your house. I can stay with you always. We can know each other’s bodies in every way, night after night. I could love you. I could work. You would not be poor. I would help you.”

Image

4) Ron and Hermione – Harry Potter Series

We all rooted for them from the beginning. Did anybody every truly believe that Hermione would end up with Harry?

“There was a clatter as the basilisk fangs cascaded out of Hermione’s arms. Running at Ron, she flung them around his neck and kissed him full on the mouth. Ron threw away the fangs and broomstick he was holding and responded with such enthusiasm that he lifted Hermione off her feet.”

Jane-Eyre-Proposal-scene-romantic-movie-moments-1621427-1024-576

5) Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester

Another love conquers all example. Jane and Mr Rochester are also an example of how much can be forgiven for the person that you love. Jane deserves somebody who treats her like the truly beautiful woman she is and Mr Rochester needs a second chance at love. Another beautiful love story from the Bronte sisters.

““I have for the first time found what I can truly love–I have found you. You are my sympathy–my better self–my good angel–I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wrap my existence about you–and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.””

10778669

6) Yul and Sylvie – Stonewylde series

This was one of the best books I read last year and I love the relationship between Sylvie and Yul.

the-night-circus-uk

7) Celia and Marco – The Night Circus

A couple that show that trying to make two people fight will not overcome their love for each other. A beautiful relationship that overcomes the worst hardships.

“I have tried to let you go and I cannot. I cannot stop thinking of you. I cannot stop dreaming about you.”

time-trav-wife-221

8) Henry and Clare – The Time Traveller’s Wife

These two have an amazing relationship that survives the fact that Henry keeps disappearing and then appearing again in different parts of Clare’s life. An enchanting love story.

“I place my hands over her ears and tip her head back, and kiss her, and try to put my heart into hers, for safekeeping, in case I lose it again.”

shiver

9) Grace and Sam – Shiver

This was the book I gripped on to when I wanted more Twilight style stories. It’s much better though. Grace and Sam have to overcome the winters where Sam becomes a wolf for the season. That’s hard enough but then there is the threat that he’ll never turn back to human again. They’re such a sweet couple.

“His lips tasted cool and sharp, peppermint, winter, but his hands, soft on the back of my neck, promised long days and summer and forever.”

WATER FOR ELEPHANTS

10) Jacob and Marlena – Water for Elephants

I think circuses are excellent locations for a romance story. This one is extra special because we find out what happened after the story ended.

“When two people are meant to be together, they will be together. It’s fate.”

 

Which are your favourite romances?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Romances

  1. Interesting choice – Snape and Lily. I can see where you’re coming from. Especially since we never really get to see James and Lily falling in love.

    Hermione and Ron are on my list too! Seriously, how can they not be 🙂

Leave a Reply

