Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Authors I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s subject is the top ten authors that I’d put on my auto-buy list. This means the authors that I love so much that I’d buy their next book no matter what it was about. Although I am a creature of habit and am always reading the same authors I couldn’t think of ten for this list!

stephen-king

1) Stephen King

I don’t think I’ve ever read a Stephen King book and not liked it (apart from The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon which I found a little bit boring). I love Stephen King novels and would try anything he wrote. I’ve yet to try any of his fantasy novels but they’re on my list!

terry-pratchett-with-mice

2) Terry Pratchett

I definitely have never read a Terry Pratchett book and not liked it. I love his Discworld novels and his children’s books. I’m still not sure where I’m up to in the Discworld series and I do keep buying novels even though I’ve not read enough of the series to get to them!

images (4)

3) JK Rowling

If you read my review of The Casual Vacancy (find it here) then you’ll know that I didn’t particularly enjoy it. Why then did I struggle through it and why do I still think that if she released another novel I would buy it straight away? I think it’s partly nostalgia because I’m such a huge Harry Potter fan. I’ve always thought of her as one of my writing hero’s as her target audience with the Potter series is similar to my target audience. Her next novel may be more my cup of tea… who knows!

 

richarddawkins

4) Richard Dawkins

Ahh Dawkins, enemy of religious folk all over the country! I love his books (Magic of Reality was particularly good) and would probably buy anything he wrote.

 

images (5)

5) David Attenborough

My love of David Attenborough TV shows and books is left over from my Zoology degree at university. I love his books!

 

Who’s on your auto-buy list?

Leave a Reply

