Friday Fictioneers – Bonding

This is a new challenge that I found on another blog. Friday Fictioneers is where every week Rochelle Wisoff-Fields posts a picture and we try and write a 100 word story about it. Sounds like a brilliant idea! Here’s my contribution for this week:

sandra-crook

Bonding

“Your mother says you’re grounded all month!”

“So unfair. What am I meant to do on Saturdays now?”

I gestured to the bike I’d been working on for months.

“I’m not going near that!”

“There’s always your bedroom to clean…”

He grabbed a spanner.

We spent every Saturday fixing the bike and listening to the radio. One day I went down stairs and Kyle was leaning on the wall.

“You’re not grounded any more. You can go out if you want.”

He shuffled his feet.

“Nah I’m alright”

Smiling, I threw him a spanner.

 

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Bonding

  1. Just goes to show what a little bonding can do… this was gorgeous Beckles. Now I am laughing as I went straight to the story and didn’t see the Title till I wrote that line. Least I guessed right 🙂

  2. I like it. No big twists or supernatural themes, just the goodness of work, father-son bonding, and growth. I could see this happening and you wrote it very naturally. Welcome to FF and I look forward to reading more of your work. (BTW, I’m a mostly vegan.) 🙂

    janet

  3. Dear Becky,
    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Has anyone warned you about the addiction aspects? I started one year ago exactly and look what happened to me.
    Nice first story. I look forward to reading more of you.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  4. As a parent I know how hard it is to get the kids to take a chance and bond a little. they like it after they get past the initial idea, but sometimes the stubbornness cause them to miss out.

Leave a Reply

