What Inspires Me As A Writer? – Part 2 – Growing Up With Books

This is the second in a series of posts where I explore the the things that originally inspired me to write and those that keep me writing. In my first post I discussed the power of books. Here I want to talk about growing up surrounded by books.

d359b157c5d713bd37ea4ef033d2edfa

(The original link to this image is broken. I found it here – http://pinterest.com/pin/282319470363418236/)

As a child I always had my nose in a book. I was THAT girl. The one who sat on her own and read books rather than playing. I don’t regret one second of it! I was always fascinated with escaping into imaginary worlds. While other children were playing football I was climbing the faraway tree with Moonface and Saucepan Man. The girls were playing with Barbie dolls and I was travelling to Hogwarts with Harry, Ron and Hermione. The one character I related to as a child was Matilda. This was a girl who understood the importance of books and fought against anybody who told her they were useless. My kind of character!

The books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives. She went on olden-day sailing ships with Joseph Conrad. She went to Africa with Ernest Hemingway and to India with Rudyard Kipling. She travelled all over the world while sitting in her little room in an English village. (Roald Dahl – Matilda)

I believe books are so important for child development. From an educational point of view there can be no argument. Books teach children to read and write. However they also teach children how to dream. They remind them never to give up because there is always an adventure to be had. They build on a child’s imagination which is the most useful thing a child could have.

The project I am currently working on is Young Adult fiction. It is one of the most important genres in my opinion. In these novels teenagers learn that they can defeat their obstacles and come out the other end smiling. The characters in young adult novels can inspire and teach young people in ways that adults may not be able to.

This is why I write. I want children and teenagers to be inspired like I was when I was at school. I don’t want the magic of books to ever be forgotten.

 

Leave a Reply

