Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Don’t Fit In!

040213_0955_TopTenTuesd1.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme held over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a “freebie” week which means we can choose whatever subject we like for our top ten list! As exciting as that is, it took me a long time to think of what I’d like to choose! I’ve decided to focus on books that don’t tend to fit in on the other top ten lists I usually write. I mostly focus on novels for my Top Ten Tuesday posts so this is a list of books that I love that are not novels.

3156245

1) The Mighty Book of Boosh by Noel Fielding, Julian Barratt and others

Last week I posted about Noel Fielding’s 40th birthday and that should have been your clue that I’m a huge Mighty Boosh fan! This book was a brilliant companion to the tv series with parts from all of our favourite characters including Old Gregg’s watercolours and Bob Fossil’s dance moves.

945817

2) The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton

I’m a big Tim Burton fan and have always loved his gothic style of humour. This book is hilarious and includes stories, poetry and illustrations with some amazing characters. The humour is dark and has some disturbing roots in reality. Stick boy and match girl, for example, shows just how dangerous love can be.

7648998

3) The Art of Tim Burton

This has to be the most beautiful book I own. It’s full of original drawings and artwork by the wonderful Tim Burton. A lot of these images go with the movies he created and give an insight into where the characters came from. Many of the illustrations don’t relate to the movies but are beautiful nonetheless. A truly unique artist.

11380935

4) The Scribblings of a Madcap Shambleton by Noel Fielding

Another Noel Fielding book! This book gives an amazing insight into Noel’s bright and imaginative mind. It’s mainly full of his artwork but also includes short stories and quotes. This is one of my favourite books on my non-fiction shelf.

428862 (1)

5) Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith

I was never any good at art but always wanted to be. This book is a brilliant source of inspiration and a lot of fun! It encourages you to draw all over it, doodle in it and just be as creative as you can be. An amazing book.

11340513

6) The Magic of Reality by Richard Dawkins

I bought this book as soon as it came out and it was a brilliant read. It’s aimed at children but is perfect for adults who don’t know much about physics! I really enjoyed reading this.

7405853

7) Life Stories by David Attenborough

I’m a big David Attenborough fan and his books helped me a lot when I was doing my degree! This book is partly about natural history but it also gives some insight into David Attenborough’s thoughts and experiences. A rewarding read!

1059680

8) Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero

This is the best cookbook I own and is brilliant for recipes as well as in depth advice about veganism. You can read my review of this book here.

6924718

9) Wicked The Musical Pop-up Compendium

This book is a must for all Wicked fans. It’s an amazing companion to the musical with pop up bits and interactive pull out bits. I love the letters from Glinda and Elphaba to their parents and the amazing pop up Defying Gravity scene.

4605017

10) Bad Science by Ben Goldacre

I was recommended this book by my tutor when I started my Zoology degree. I bought the book but didn’t get around to reading it for a couple of years. I’m glad I got around to it though because it’s a fascinating read. You’ll never trust the media to report scientific stories again.

Do you tend to choose novels over non-fiction and coffee table books? What are your favourite books that often get overlooked?

Leave a Reply

